Q & A with Lucien Scott – CDM Employee and Outdoor Enthusiast

CurtisBy Curtis Jolley
Public Relations Coordinator

If you’ve seen a Science Theater show at Creative Discovery Museum, you’ve probably seen Lucien Scott, Assistant Manager for Youth Programs and Science, doing mesmerizing experiments and inspiring a new generation of budding scientists.

What you might not know, though, is that Lucien is an avid kayaker and loves all things outdoors. He recently sat down to answer a few questions about healthy living including his training for an upcoming IRONMAN competition in 2016.

Lucien and his family enjoy an outdoor adventure together.

Lucien and his family enjoy an outdoor adventure together.

What’s your favorite outdoor activity to do, and why?

Kayaking, hands down, is my absolute favorite sport of all time. If I could, I would kayak all the time, but I must breath, eat, sleep, and go to work.

I love being outdoors, and kayaking is an easy way to travel quickly and effortlessly through a wooded area. Kayaking also teaches you countless lessons: 1) Gravity isn’t just a good idea; it’s the law. 2) Go with the flow. 3) Take the path of least resistance. 5) Water drops may not be able to move a mountain, but over time, erosion can take it to the sea.

Where are some of your favorite outdoor spots to take your family in Chattanooga?

In no particular order:

  1. Stringers Ridge: mountain biking, trail running, and hiking with a few spectacular views of the scenic city.
  2. Green Way Farms: easy mountain biking, hiking, river access to North Chickamauga Creek, and a dog park!
  3. North Chickamauga Creek, Pocket Wilderness in Soddy Daisy: excellent hiking, access to Cumberland trail, and seasonal waterfalls.
  4. Cloudland Canyon State Park: Hiking, trail running, excellent vistas, and waterfalls.
  5. Lula Lake Land Trust: waterfalls! Hiking and spectacular vistas of surrounding north Georgia.

As a parent, how do you encourage your children to live a healthy lifestyle?

I try to set a good example. I go for a run, and they want to go for a run. I  go on a bike ride, and they want to go on a bike ride. It’s that simple. By setting a example they want to follow you. My kids follow me outside.

Also, I unplug them. I turn off the TV, take away their iPads, and put them outside.

Lucien enjoys an afternoon of kayaking.

Lucien enjoys an afternoon of kayaking.

What’s the most important thing to remember about eating a healthy diet?

Drink water, eat lean meats, fruits and veggies, veggies, veggies! Blending veggies into your fruit smoothies is a great way to get more nutrients into your diet and you can’t even tell they are there!

You’re participating in an upcoming IRONMAN event. How do you prepare yourself for a marathon, both mentally and physically?

I start three months out with a steady running plan typically consisting of two to three days a week averaging 4-8 miles a day. I’ll throw in one long day (about 10-12 miles) every other week. About a month and a half out, I’ll run a full marathon as a trial run to make sure all systems are working properly. I’ll then resume my training until about 3 weeks out when I will tone down the mileage but keep the consistency. The week prior to the race, I won’t run at all so I can be well rested and “hungry” for a run. During my training, I tend to focus on the foods I eat and strive to never be hungry but never eat too much.

As far as mental preparedness, it’s all about being okay with being on your feet and moving for hours at a time. This is practiced during your training runs and is arguably the most important part of running a marathon. The trick is convincing yourself that you’re strong enough to do anything, especially that you’re strong enough to keep running for a few more miles. Having the mental toughness to never give up is your greatest asset in a marathon and living healthy in general.

To learn more about healthy living and outdoor activities, visit the final return of Good for You: Healthy Fun on the Run at the Museum until Nov. 10, 2015!

Leave a Reply

